June Favorites + Blog Update

WELCOME BACK EVERYONE!

I know. I’m a literal mess. It’s been about a month since I’ve posted on this blog. I’m so sorry for this. My summer update article was super inaccurate about my posting times, and I’m going to try my hardest to be consistent with from this point on. If you haven’t noticed yet, the blog got a little makeover! *squeals like a guinea pig* I’m actually really in love with it now, and my heart is super happy. It’s honestly like a breath of fresh air, and I felt my blog needed a little spark. If you have time, play around with the homepage. There are a few buttons I’d love for you to click (aka the follow button) and don’t forget to leave your email to subscribe! Now, let’s get into my June Favorites!

June Favorites

Alright, guys. June is long gone and we’re already a couple of weeks into July. I know most of you are dreading going back to school, but honestly I’m really excited and can’t wait for August. I wanted to take this first blog post on the new and improved page to show some items that I really enjoyed during the month of June. At the end of the entire post, links will be posted to EVERY SINGLE ITEM, so if you see something you enjoy read to the very end to find out how to get it!

Clothing

1.Sporty Dad Hats

 

I’ve come to love a good dad hat. They’re a fashion staple that goes with almost anything. What I like the most about dad hats, is that they can make for a quick fix when you’re having a bad hair day or want to sleep in until the very last minute. I even found a way to wear them with my crochet twists! Sporty dad hats bring more of an athleisure vibe to an outfit, which is a style I’ve kind of been drifting towards lately. They also spice up a basic look really well and can pull the whole outfit together! These hats are from Adidas and Nike

Beauty

1.The Body Shop Items

 

For the past few weeks, I’ve been working towards not eating meat and using cruelty free products. I started to notice the way junk and processed foods made me feel, and I constantly talk about how I love animals. My mom, sister, and I took a trip to Ulta a couple of weeks ago, and I was about to purchase Freeman Beauty face masks. I was heading to the checkout counter when my eye spotted all of these items from The Body Shop. One of these stores was just built inside my mall, but I never had the opportunity to give it a go. Luckily, there was a large variety to pick from at Ulta, and I decided to get a face-wash and shower cream (kind of like body wash, but not as foamy). GUYS. These products are AMAZING. The shower cream smells so good, and makes my skin feel so soft. This brand is cruelty free and they promote natural ingredients meaning they’re a lot healthier for your skin and body. This specific shower cream is the almond milk and honey one. The face-wash has such a clean, fresh scent. I hate using over-scented products on my face because it tends to make it break out. After using this, my face is literally as smooth and soft as a newborn baby’s butt. I’m NOT kidding, you need to try items from The Body Shop!

2.Bath and Body Works Body Cream

 

Again, as said in the previous paragraph, I’m trying to use cruelty free products. I’m already a huge fan of Bath and Body Works, so this one was super easy. If you follow me on Instagram (which you should definitely do right now if you don’t), you might’ve seen a picture of this lotion on my page. I’m a fan for sweet smells, and this does just that without being super overwhelming. The scent of this specific lotion is almond and vanilla with natural almond oil. Because it’s a body cream, it’s really thick and isn’t watery like some lotions can be. Also, it has shea butter, aloe, and cocoa butter in it making my skin feel so good and moisturized after a single use. I love applying this after I get out of the shower. Make sure to check out some of the other scents too, I’m pretty sure there’s one with lavender in it!

Books

1.The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success

 

Along with my interest in vegetarianism, I’ve started exploring my spirituality as well. Now, I’m not talking about a specific religion. The spirituality I mean is being in tune with your inner self and trusting your intuition. Basically I’m on the journey to living a more positive, judge-free life. The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success by Deepak Chopra is the perfect guide for that. It’s a quick little read, only 96 pages, but let me tell you there is so much good information layered into that small paperback book. I loved reading this every night before bed because it filled me with positive energy and inspiration. If you’re thinking about starting a spiritual journey, definitely check this little guy out!

Miscellaneous

1.Brother Sewing Machine

 

Yes, okay. After taking my first sewing class last semester, I literally felt like a pro and went out and purchased a sewing machine! The best feeling is that I bought this bad boy with my own hard-earned money. This machine is super affordable and great for a beginner still learning the ins and outs of sewing (aka me). I actually didn’t have experience with a computerized machine until I bought this, but I REALLY love it. The Brother Sewing Machine: Project Runway Edition comes with 100 different stitches that you can try, which is an insane amount. Some of the stitches on the machine look so foreign to me, like I don’t know who or what would use them, but if it’s there I guess it’s possible! The package also comes with a seam ripper, a few different sewing foots, and three bobbins. Okay, but wait, there’s more. The bobbin case is already installed in the sewing machine, so setting up the bobbin is ten times easier compared to a non-digital sewing machine. I have a few projects coming soon, so be on the lookout for that!

Well, that’s all I have for you guys! I really hope you all enjoyed this post and will check out some of the items listed as my June favorites. As promised, here are the links to every item mentioned in this post:

Nike Hat: https://www.urbanoutfitters.com/shop/nike-heritage-86-futura-logo-strapback-hat?color=001&quantity=1&size=ONE%20SIZE&type=REGULAR

Adidas Hat: https://www.urbanoutfitters.com/shop/adidas-originals-relaxed-strapback-baseball-hat?color=010&quantity=1&size=ONE%20SIZE&type=REGULAR

The Body Shop Shower Cream: https://www.thebodyshop.com/en-us/body/body-wash/almond-milk-honey-shower-cream/p/p002345

The Body Shop Face Wash: https://www.thebodyshop.com/en-us/skin-care/dry-skin/vitamin-e-gentle-facial-wash/p/p000177

Bath and Body Works Cream: http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/p/almond-andamp-vanilla-body-cream-023334853.html?cgid=body-cream#start=16

The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success: https://www.amazon.com/Seven-Spiritual-Laws-Success-Fulfillment/dp/1878424114/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1499831269&sr=8-1&keywords=the+seven+spiritual+laws+of+success

Brother Sewing Machine: https://www.walmart.com/ip/Brother-Computerized-100-Stitch-Project-Runway-Sewing-Machine-CE1100PRW/27419862

Check back on Sunday for a new blog series I’m starting called Weekly Positivity where I share one positive experience for everyday of the week! Don’t forget to follow and subscribe.

Until next time!

blogfarewell

 

 

4 thoughts on “June Favorites + Blog Update

  1. Kimberly Frederick says:

    Thanks for the info on “not tested on animals” products. I’ve been looking for quality products that are cruelty-free. YOU ROCK!!!! Great Blog post. I’m a fan. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

